and sometimes poetry

Morning Glory (2010) | Review by Mark Leidner

Morning Glory made me feel good in ways that made me feel ashamed of myself, like a pop song coming on in my car. I want to marry Rachel McAdams. I saw myself in her workaholism and thought, “Yes! Finally someone who like me is more committed to work than being present in her personal relationships,” and so when she inevitably succeeds it felt like I was succeeding right along with her. This movie makes the American Dream seem possible, so if you’re depressed because your career is a black hole from which no light escapes, and you’re either at or past thirty and you still haven’t found fulfillment in whatever tedious rituals you thoughtlessly complete in order to get a paycheck, going to see this movie will make you feel better about all that.

To me Harrison Ford is still Han Solo. Who I also want to be. So he’s always watchable. But when he isn’t on the screen, Morning Glory is kind of boring and mind-meltingly fake. But I don’t go to movies for reality and neither should you. Hannah seemed to enjoy it and that’s the only reason I went, but it wasn’t as good as The Next Three Days, even though it received similarly poor reviews. During the movie I thought of the line “Morning Glory is the The Next Three Days of romantic comedies,” and have tried several times to think of arguments that would allow me to say that in good faith; but it’s simply not true. While ridiculous The Next Three Days completely fulfills the prerequisites of its genre; Morning Glory however feels more like one of those kernels at the bottom of the bag that only half-pops. Go see this movie only if you’re extremely easy to please and need to see a charming lie about the triumph of hard work and determination over the vortex of loneliness and self-alienation blind ambition leaves in place of the soul.

Leave a Reply

